Scroll down

Document Photographique (Reference pour HUMPTY \ DUMPTY), Paris, Novembre 2021 © Cyprien Gaillard Crédit photo : Max Paul

HUMPTY \ DUMPTY

Cyprien Gaillard
From 19/10/2022 to 08/01/2023

HUMPTY \ DUMPTY, Cyprien Gaillard’s new project for autumn 2022, takes the form of an exhibition in two chapters that are presented simultaneously at the Palais de Tokyo and at Lafayette Anticipations. With this project, he offers a reflection upon time – its traces, its effects, and the relationships that humans form with it. Inspired by the current era, one in which Paris is frenetically restoring its most prestigious monuments whilst erasing marks of wear and tear in preparation for the Olympic Games, Cyprien Gaillard reveals how the city acts a privileged terrain for the expression of entropy (degradation, disorder and unpredictability), and how, in return, humans seem compelled to fight against this process. Exploring the margins, the nooks and crannies, and the spaces of dissent, he probes our desires for order, permanence and consistency whilst seeking out narratives that point to possible new forms of equilibrium.

HUMPTY \ DUMPTY takes its title from Lewis Carroll’s novel Through the Looking-Glass, and refers to the egg-shaped character who has fallen from atop his wall and who, despite many attempts, cannot return to his original state.

 

 

Document Photographique (Reference pour HUMPTY \ DUMPTY), Paris, Mars 2022 © Cyprien Gaillard Crédit photo : Max Paul

At the Palais de Tokyo, HUMPTY, the first chapter of the exhibition, presents selection of works that have never been shown before in France, as well as others by invited artists. Through evocations of the relationship between the body and architecture, abandoned territories, war and invasive species, Cyprien Gaillard paints a portrait of our relations to collapse and to reconstruction. In doing so, he offers a portrait in negative of our obsession with the preservation of beings and the conservation of things, and the permanent temptation to maintain or return to a certain order of the world.

At Lafayette Anticipations, for the second chapter of the exhibition, DUMPTY, the artist gives new life to a work that has seemingly fallen into oblivion. A monumental sculpture installed in 1979 in the heart of the newlyconstructed Horloge district, this unique automatoncum-timepiece consists of a man perched atop a rock armed with a sword and a shield. The last movements of the automaton date back to 2003, and it has remained paralyzed ever since, gradually abandoned to a colony of pigeons and to erosion. Cyprien Gaillard proposes here a rebirth for this sculpture, wherein the movements of its permanent battle against time can resume once more.

 

FROM 19/10/2022 TO 08/01/2023

Curator Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel

Assistant curator Clément Raveu

The HUMPTY \ DUMPTY exhibition benefits from the support of

EXHIBITIONS OF THE SEASON

Explore

Voir plus bas

Document Photographique (Reference pour HUMPTY DUMPTY), Paris, Novembre 2021 © Cyprien Gaillard Crédit photo : Max Paul

HUMPTY \ DUMPTY

Cyprien Gaillard
Du 19/10/2022 au 08/01/2023

HUMPTY \ DUMPTY, projet inédit de Cyprien Gaillard à l’automne 2022, est une exposition en deux chapitres, présentés au même moment au Palais de Tokyo et à Lafayette Anticipations. C’est autour d’une réflexion sur le temps, ses traces, ses effets, et les relations que l’humain noue avec lui, que l’artiste imagine cette proposition. Inspiré par l’époque, alors que Paris restaure frénétiquement ses monuments les plus prestigieux et en efface les marques d’usure en préparation des Jeux Olympiques, Cyprien Gaillard révèle comment la ville constitue un terrain privilégié d’expression de l’entropie (de la dégradation, du désordre et de l’imprévisible), et comment, en retour, l’humain tend à lutter contre cet état. C’est dans les marges, les recoins, et les espaces de dissidence que l’artiste sonde nos désirs d’ordre, de permanence et de constance et trouve les récits de nouveaux équilibres possibles.

HUMPTY \ DUMPTY, titre tiré du roman De l’autre côté du miroir de Lewis Carroll, fait référence à ce personnage en forme d’œuf tombé d’un mur, et qui, malgré de multiples tentatives, ne pourra retrouver son état originel.

 

Document Photographique (Reference pour HUMPTY DUMPTY), Paris, Mars 2022 © Cyprien Gaillard Crédit photo : Max Paul

Au Palais de Tokyo, HUMPTY, le premier chapitre de l’exposition, rassemble une sélection d’œuvres inédites ou encore jamais présentées en France, ainsi que celles d’artistes invité·es. C’est au travers de la relation entre le corps et l’architecture, les territoires délaissés, les évocations de la guerre ou encore les espèces invasives, que Cyprien Gaillard fait un portrait de notre lien à l’effondrement et à la reconstruction. En creux se raconte l’obsession de la préservation des êtres et de la conservation des choses, et la tentation permanente de maintenir ou de retrouver un certain ordre du monde.

À Lafayette Anticipations, pour le second chapitre de l’exposition, DUMPTY, l’artiste redonne vie à une œuvre tombée dans l’oubli. Sculpture monumentale installée depuis 1979 au cœur de Paris dans le quartier de l’Horloge, alors en pleine construction, cet automate, une horloge unique au monde, est constituée d’un homme juché sur un rocher muni d’un glaive et d’un bouclier. Les derniers mouvements de l’automate ont eu lieu en 2003, il est resté paralysé depuis, abandonné progressivement à une colonie de pigeons et à l’érosion. Cyprien Gaillard propose d’œuvrer à sa renaissance. Reprennent ainsi les mouvements de cette bataille permanente contre le temps, qu’il tente de rattraper.

Du 19/10/2022 AU 08/01/2023

Commissaire Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel

Assistant curatorial Clément Raveu

L’exposition HUMPTY \ DUMPTY bénéficie du soutien de

LES AUTRES EXPOSITIONS DE LA SAISON

Explorer la Tokyothèque