Jonathan Jones, untitled (transcriptions of country) study, 2021 Historical prints, objects, embroideries by Shabnam Mukhi, Lida Heidari and Rabia Azizi Courtesy of the artist

Seminar "Indigeneity, hybridity, anthropophagy (II)" #1

The 08/12/2021 De 17:30 at 19:30

Jonathan Jones and Daria de Beauvais

The rise in visibility of Indigenous practices in international contemporary art is a major phenomenon in the history of art being written, with the risk, at times, of becoming a simple label. The terms “hybridity” and “anthropophagy” (in reference to the “Cannibalist Manifesto” of Oswald de Andrade) were thus attached to Indigeneity to avoid identity assignments and to question the invention of variable practices and identities, thwarting the categories inherited from colonialism and making it possible to rethink the relationship to nature, territory, humans and other than humans.

By giving the floor to researchers and artists, this seminar aims to shift the focus of institutional questions towards those of creative processes, from assigned identities to practices by which the individuals self-identify and invent their relationships to the world.

For this first meeting at the Palais de Tokyo, Daria de Beauvais, co-curator of the exhibition untitled (transcriptions of country), presents in a guided tour of this original project. This visit is followed by an online intervention from Sydney by Jonathan Jones, who explains the main lines of his practice as researcher and artist.

Co-conception Morgan Labar (Associate Professor, ARTS Department, ENS) and Daria de Beauvais (Senior Curator, Palais de Tokyo).
In partnership with the École Normale Supérieure (Paris).

As part of the exhibition

Explore

Séminaire « Autochtonie, hybridité, anthropophagie (II) » #1

Le 08/12/2021 De 17:30 à 19:30

Jonathan Jones et Daria de Beauvais

La montée en visibilité des pratiques autochtones dans l’art contemporain international est un phénomène majeur de l’histoire de l’art en train de s’écrire, avec le risque, parfois, de devenir une simple étiquette. Les termes « hybridité » et « anthropophagie » (en référence au « Manifeste Anthropophage » d’Oswald de Andrade) ont ainsi été accolés à « autochtonie » afin d’éviter les assignations identitaires et d’interroger l’invention de pratiques et d’identités variables, déjouant les catégories héritées du colonialisme et permettant de repenser les rapports à la nature, au territoire, aux humains et aux autres qu’humains.

En laissant la parole à des chercheurs et des artistes, ce séminaire entend déplacer la focale des questions institutionnelles vers celles des processus créatifs, des identités assignées vers les pratiques par lesquelles l’individu s’auto-désigne et invente ses relations au monde.

Pour cette première rencontre au Palais de Tokyo, Daria de Beauvais, co-commissaire de l’exposition sans titre (territoire originel), présente au cours d’une visite guidée l’ensemble de ce projet inédit. Cette visite est suivie par une intervention en ligne depuis Sydney de Jonathan Jones, qui expose à cette occasion les grands axes de sa pratique de chercheur et d’artiste.

Co-conception Morgan Labar (enseignant associé, département ARTS, ENS) et Daria de Beauvais (Senior Curator, Palais de Tokyo).
En partenariat avec l’École Normale Supérieure (Paris).

Dans le cadre de l’exposition

Explorer la Tokyothèque