Scroll down

Reclaim the Earth

From 15/04/2022 to 04/09/2022

 

Reclaim the Earth1 is a wake-up call, as much as a rallying cry. The origins of this collective exhibition can be found in an observation by its scientific advisor, Ariel Salleh: “Bringing ecology, feminism, socialism and Indigenous politics together means giving up the Eurocentric lens for a genuinely global one.”2 In its determination to think the world beyond the Nature-Culture divide, the exhibition follows the trajectories of artists with a different approach to elements – earth, air, fire, water, plants and minerals, irreducible to their mere materiality. They are both medium and tool – cultural, historic and political vectors being revitalised in a context of ecological emergency.

Fourteen artists, from different generations and cultural origins, examine links between body and land, our primordial human relation to soil and everything it nurtures, the disappearance of certain species, the transmission of Indigenous stories and knowledges, gleaning and collecting, or social justice and collective healing. These artists show us that we are not just “face to face with a landscape,” nor “living on Earth” but a part of it. We are indeed part of the great “soil community”3 as spoken by Rachel Carson, who gave birth to the ecology movement. We need to replace relations of domination and subordination, and to consider instead kinship and alliances, as “the Earth is neither a natural reserve, nor an agricultural resource, it is a skein of relationships between minerals, plants, animals and humans.”4 Our era needs to leave behind the obsolete model of an extractivist society and put humans back into their right place; no longer individuals separated from their environments, but “relational entities.”5

 

“There are more ideas on earth than we can imagine; ideas on the ground itself, on things, on living forms.”

Marielle Macé, Nos cabanes, Verdier, 2019

The artists in Reclaim the Earth help us think and feel about a nature that is charged, intensified and active. They rummage the Earth, literally and metaphorically, transforming subterranean roots into aerial ones, foregrounding, even re-inventing, narratives that have been forgotten or reduced to silence. Léuli Eshrāghi, scientific advisor of the exhibition, thus emphasises the need for reparation, care and healing among Indigenous cultures invalidated by colonialism. Drawing away from the Eurocentric vision, the artists imagine new connections with the living environment. Their actions form a complex assemblage of practices, across multiple scales: with land, with ancestors, with human and non-human life, as well as a conversation with visual culture. Of particular concern are Indigenous bonds with territory, but also social, cultural or spiritual conventions, testifying to the decolonial resurgence of knowing ‘how to think’, knowing ‘how to do’, and knowing ‘how to be in the world’.

 

Footnotes

(1) After the early collection of ecofeminist texts: Reclaim the Earth: Women Speak Out for Life on Earth, edited by Leonie Caldecott and Stephanie Leland
(London: The Women’s Press, 1983)
(2) Ariel Salleh, Ecofeminism as Politics: nature, Marx, and the postmodern (London: Zed Books, 1997/2017), p. 153.
(3) Rachel Carson, Printemps silencieux (Marseille: Wildproject, 2020), p.98 (original publication Silent Spring, 1962).
(4) Barbara Glowczewski, Réveiller les esprits de la terre (Bellevaux: Dehors, 2021), p. 266.
(5) Arturo Escobar, Sentir-penser avec la terre. Une écologie au-delà de l’Occident (Paris: Seuil, 2018), p. 136

FROM 15/04/2022 TO 04/09/2022

WITH THE BENEFITS FROM

ET DES MÉCÈNES DU CERCLES ART & ÉCOLOGIE

MEDIA PARTNERS

The other exhibitions of the season

Explore

Voir plus bas

Réclamer la terre

Du 15/04/2022 au 04/09/2022

En raison des fortes chaleurs l’exposition Réclamer la terre peut être amenée à fermer ses portes temporairement. Le cas échéant un bandeau d’alerte sur notre page d’accueil vous informera de l’accès à l’exposition et les conditions tarifaires seront modifiées. La librairie et les restaurants restent ouverts pour vous accueillir. 

 

Réclamer la terre 1 est une prise de conscience autant qu’un cri de ralliement. Cette exposition collective s’appuie sur un constat de sa conseillère scientifique, Ariel Salleh : «Rassembler écologie, féminisme, socialisme et politiques autochtones signifie renoncer à la vision eurocentrique pour adopter un regard véritablement global2.». Désirant penser le monde au-delà de la division entre nature et culture, l’exposition suit la trace d’artistes qui travaillent autrement les éléments (terre, eau, feu, air, végétaux, minéraux…), irréductibles à leur simple matérialité. Ils sont à la fois médium et outil, des vecteurs culturels, historiques et politiques revitalisés dans un contexte d’urgence écologique.

Quatorze artistes, de différentes générations et origines culturelles, examinent ainsi les liens entre le corps et la terre, notre relation primordiale au sol et à tout ce qu’il nourrit, la disparition de certaines espèces, la transmission de récits et savoirs autochtones, le glanage et la collecte, ou encore la justice sociale et la guérison collective. Ces artistes nous montrent que nous ne sommes pas «face au paysage», ni «sur terre» mais qu’au contraire nous faisons corps avec elle, créant cette «communauté du sol» dont parlait Rachel Carson, à l’origine du mouvement écologiste3. Nous devons remplacer les rapports de domination et de subordination, par ceux de parenté et d’alliances, car « la Terre n’est ni une réserve naturelle, ni une ressource agricole, c’est un écheveau de relations entre les minéraux, les plantes, les animaux et les humains »4. Il est temps d’abandonner le modèle obsolète d’une société extractiviste et de remettre les humains à leur place ; non plus des individus séparés de leur environnement, mais des « entités relationnelles »5.

 

« Il y a plus d’idées sur terre qu’on ne l’imagine ; des idées à même la terre, à même les choses, à même les formes du vivant. »

Marielle Macé, Nos cabanes, Verdier, 2019

Les artistes de « Réclamer la terre » nous aident à penser et à ressentir une nature chargée, intensifiée et active. Iels fouillent la terre au sens propre comme figuré, transformant des racines souterraines en racines aériennes, (re)mettant en avant des récits oubliés, réduits au silence, ou même à inventer. Léuli Eshrāghi, conseiller·e scientifique de l’exposition, montre ainsi le besoin de réparation, soin et guérison des cultures autochtones discréditées par le colonialisme. S’éloignant d’une vision eurocentrique, les artistes développent de nouvelles connexions avec l’environnement. Leurs actions forment un assemblage de pratiques et d’échelles de relations : à la terre, aux ancêtres, à la vie humaine et non humaine, ainsi qu’à la culture visuelle. Il s’agit d’évoquer notamment les rapports autochtones au territoire, des cultures engagées, mais aussi des recherches sociales, culturelles ou spirituelles, témoignant de la résurgence décoloniale de savoirs : savoir-penser, savoir-faire mais surtout savoir-être au monde.

Notes de bas de page

(1) Titre inspiré par le premier recueil de textes écoféministes : Reclaim the Earth: Women Speak Out for Life on Earth, édité par Leonie Caldecott et Stephanie
Leland (The Women’s Press, Londres, 1983)
(2) Ariel Salleh, Ecofeminism as Politics: nature, Marx and the postmodern (Zed Books, Londres, 1997/2017), p. 153.
(3) Rachel Carson, Printemps silencieux (Wildproject, Marseille, 2020), p.98 (publication originale Silent Spring, 1962).
(4) Barbara Glowczewski, Réveiller les esprits de la terre (Dehors, Bellevaux, 2021), p. 266.
(5) Arturo Escobar, Sentir-penser avec la terre. Une écologie au-delà de l’Occident (Seuil, Paris, 2018), p. 136

DU 15/04/2022 AU 04/09/2022

AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE

ET DES MÉCÈNES DU CERCLES ART & ÉCOLOGIE

PARTENAIRES MÉDIAS

LES AUTRES EXPOSITIONS DE LA SAISON

Explorer la Tokyothèque

ressources liées

Explorer la Tokyothèque

PRODUIT LIÉ

Voir tous les produits