Scroll down

Mimosa Echard

Sporal
From 15/04/2022 to 04/09/2022

 

The exhibition Sporal 1 represents a new instalment in the research project that Mimosa Echard began in 2019 whilst a resident at the Villa Kujoyama (Kyoto), which centres on the idea that myxomycetes, unicellular organisms that are at the intersection of the animal, plant and fungi kingdoms, may be endowed with a form of memory. It is structured around the first video game by the artist, created in collaboration with developer Andréa Sardin and artist Aodhan Madden. The game invites visitors to explore the cavities of an organism in a perpetual state of transformation, inspired by the life cycle of the myxomycete. A character with an ambiguous identity makes their way through an ambiguous, dreamlike universe evolving with each encounter and in reaction to the mutating materials that surround them. With each enigma solved and each exchange of fluids, the character unlocks ‘sexual types’ like those released by myxomycetes, which can deploy up to 720 different kinds.

 

A monumental patchwork hangs at the heart of the exhibition, and hosts an audiovisual montage based from the video game. The materials that make up the work are meanwhile drawn from a multitude of sources, sites and gestures that are superimposed here, fusing organic and industrial materials sourced online or found in the artist’s studio. Mimosa Echard has proposed an experimental, psychedelic environment where phases of latency alternate with bursts of vitality. Behind the patchwork, the exhibition shifts into a dormant, intermediary state through a video inspired by #iamonlysleeping – a growing practice on the Twitch video streaming platform where people broadcast themselves whilst they are asleep and consent to their own surveillance.

 

Myxomycetes appear to me as robust, mysterious, and indifferent lifeforms, whose familiarity with both the past and the future allows them to reflect the decomposition of our social structures as well as the degradation of the environment; they also allow us to dream about, in a confused and slimy form, the forms taken on by technology.

Mimosa Echard

The exhibition is the result of numerous collaborations, a way of working which is integral to Mimosa Echard’s artistic practice. The installation is accompanied by a sound environment featuring experimental pop music created by Aodhan Madden and Yvan Etienne. The soundtrack is composed of field recordings and various voices, including that of the singer Charli XCX. Mimosa Echard and her collaborators immerse us in a hybrid universe that can be explored further beyond the duration and the space of the exhibition: the video game Sporal will be freely available online from spring 2022 (www.sporal.net), while streams on Twitch will also offer the possibility of bringing online communities into the Palais de Tokyo.

 

From 15/04/2022 to 04/09/2022

Curator Daria de Beauvais

Assistant curator Lisa Colin

AVEC LA PARTICIPATION DE

CE PROJET A ÉTÉ SELECTIONNÉ PAR LA COMMISSION MÉCÉNAT DE LA FONDATION DES ARTISTES QUI LUI A APPORTÉ SON SOUTIEN

IN COPRODUCTION WITH

MEDIAS PARTNERS

The other exhibitions of the season

Explore

RELATED PRODUCTS

All products

Voir plus bas

Mimosa Echard

Sporal
Du 15/04/2022 au 04/09/2022

 

Le projet Sporal1 poursuit la recherche initiée par Mimosa Echard en 2019 à la Villa Kujoyama (Kyoto) sur l’idée de mémoire chez les myxomycètes, organismes unicellulaires à chemin entre le règne animal, végétal et celui des champignons. L’exposition a pour matrice son premier jeu vidéo, réalisé en collaboration avec la développeuse Andréa Sardin et l’artiste Aodhan Madden. Il invite à parcourir les cavités d’un organisme en perpétuelle transformation, inspiré du cycle de vie du myxomycète. Un·e joueur·se à l’identité ambiguë s’infiltre dans un univers onirique et ambivalent dans lequel iel évolue au gré de ses rencontres et de l’état de matières en mutation. À chaque énigme résolue et à chaque échange de fluides, iel débloque des « types sexuels », à l’instar des myxomycètes qui peuvent en mobiliser jusqu’à 720 différents.

 

 

Un patchwork monumental suspendu au cœur de l’exposition dévoile un montage audiovisuel réalisé à partir du jeu vidéo. Les tissus constitutifs de l’œuvre proviennent d’une multitude de sources, de lieux et de gestes qui se superposent, fusionnant matières végétales et industrielles, trouvées en ligne ou dans l’atelier de l’artiste. Mimosa Echard expérimente pour le Palais de Tokyo un environnement psychédélique, oscillant entre états de latence et élans de vitalité. À l’arrière du patchwork, l’exposition bascule dans un état intermédiaire avec une vidéo qui s’inspire de #iamonlysleeping – une pratique qui se répand sur le service de streaming vidéo en direct Twitch, dans laquelle des personnes s’exposent dans leur sommeil et consentent à leur surveillance.

Les myxomycètes apparaissent comme des formes de vie robustes, mystérieuses et indifférentes, dont la familiarité avec le passé et le futur leur permet de s’accommoder aussi bien de la décomposition de nos structures sociales que de celle de l’environnement ; et de rêver, dans une forme confuse et gluante, les formes prises par la technologie.

Mimosa Echard

L’exposition s’est construite grâce à de nombreuses collaborations, manière de travailler chère à Mimosa Echard. L’installation s’accompagne d’un environnement sonore pop-expérimental, créé par Aodhan Madden et Yvan Etienne. Elle est composée d’enregistrements de terrain et de différentes voix, dont celle de la chanteuse Charli XCX. Mimosa Echard et ses collaborateur·ices nous plongent dans un univers hybride qu’il sera possible de continuer à explorer au-delà de l’exposition : le jeu vidéo Sporal  sera disponible en libre accès dès le printemps 2022 (www.sporal.net). Des streams sur Twitch offriront par ailleurs la possibilité de faire entrer sa communauté online dans le Palais de Tokyo.

 

Notes de bas de page

(1)Sporal : en botanique, relatif au spore, cellule reproductrice de la plupart des végétaux cryptogames et de certains protozoaires (Encyclopædia Universalis en ligne)

Du 15/04/2022 au 04/09/2022

Commissaire Daria de Beauvais

Assistante curatoriale Lisa Colin

AVEC LA PARTICIPATION DE

CE PROJET A ÉTÉ SELECTIONNÉ PAR LA COMMISSION MÉCÉNAT DE LA FONDATION DES ARTISTES QUI LUI A APPORTÉ SON SOUTIEN

EN COPRODUCTION AVEC

PARTENAIRES MÉDIAS

Ressource liée

Explorer la Tokyothèque

LES AUTRES EXPOSITIONS DE LA SAISON

Explorer la Tokyothèque

PRODUITS LIÉS

Voir tous les produits