Scroll down

Guillaume Leblon, Lost Friend (Horse), 2014. Vue d'installation, À dos de cheval avec le peintre, 2014, Institut d’art contemporain, Villeurbanne/Rhône-Alpes Collection particulière, Paris. Crédit photo : Blaise Adilon

Parade

Guillaume Leblon
From 19/10/2022 to 08/01/2023

Parade is Guillaume Leblon’s first exhibition in Paris for 10 years. As such it serves as a kind of summary of his work over the past decade, which brings together his at-times dizzying variety of interests and approaches along with the numerous contexts that he has traversed, in particular since his move to New York in 2015 and a period spent working in a studio in Guadalajara in Mexico between 2018 and 2022.

Guillaume Leblon is a sculptor who conceives of the exhibition as a physical experience rather than as a simple walk-through between objects. Each of his exhibitions responds to a site and to an institution, seeking out blind spots and shedding light upon relations of power. They foreground the concrete and material relationships between the public, the works and the space, and are imagined as a landscape to be crossed: at the Palais de Tokyo, the exhibition takes place at the frontier between the inside and the outside, with the exhibition continuing to unfold on the esplanade and within the fountain.

 

 

Every exhibition by an artist is on some level a form of self-portraiture, and this is especially true for Guillaume Leblon, in whose œuvre autobiography holds a central place. For this exhibition, he re-interprets his work, producting new links, recreating past works and mixing them with new productions.

The title of his exhibition plays on the double meaning of the term “parade” in French. In one sense, shared with English, it suggests staging an event which can be either carnivalesque or authoritarian. In French, it also suggests subterfuge, feint or trickery. It reflects in this way Guillaume Leblon’s work as a whole, which offers a vast repertoire of sculptural vocabularies from statuary to assemblage, from organic forms to architectural construction, whilst at the same time deploying mystery and ellipsis: his work is not summed up in themes or discursive figures, but instead composes with what is visible, with a perception of the world and a history of forms, with emotions and sensations.

His work at times strikes a melancholic note, which leads him to unsettle the rigorous neo-classical layout of the Palais de Tokyo’s esplanade by barring it with an uprooted tree and littering the basin with dismembered umbrellas in a scene of catastrophic disruption that echoes the uncertainties of the present and its turmoil, both societal and climatic.

 

FROM 19/10/2022 TO 08/01/2022

Curator François Piron

With the support of

The exhibition Parade is supported by Galerie Nathalie Obadia, Paris-Bruxelles.

The work Face contre terre was produced with support from and in collaboration Paprec.

The work Gardienne was produced with support by Dalle Nogare Graniti & Marmi.

The Palais de Tokyo wishes to thank gallery ProjecteSD and the Fonds de donation Emerige for their help.

THE OTHER EXHIBITIONS OF THE SEASON

Explore

Voir plus bas

Guillaume Leblon, Lost Friend (Horse), 2014. Vue d'installation, À dos de cheval avec le peintre, 2014, Institut d’art contemporain, Villeurbanne/Rhône-Alpes Collection particulière, Paris. Crédit photo : Blaise Adilon

Parade

Guillaume Leblon
Du 19/10/2022 au 08/01/2023

Parade est la première exposition à Paris de Guillaume Leblon depuis 10 ans. Elle est donc l’occasion d’une sorte de résumé de son travail sur une décennie, qui rassemble la diversité parfois déroutante de ses intérêts, de ses manières de faire, et des différents contextes qu’il a traversés, notamment depuis son installation à New York en 2015 et son expérience d’un atelier à Guadalajara au Mexique entre 2018 et 2022. 

 

Guillaume Leblon est un sculpteur qui envisage l’exposition comme une expérience, plutôt qu’une simple présentation d’objets. Ses expositions répondent à un lieu, à une institution, elles cherchent des échappées, rendent compte de rapports de force. Elles mettent au premier plan une relation physique, concrète, matérielle, entre le public, les œuvres et le lieu, et elle est conçue comme un paysage que l’on traverse, ici à la frontière entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur du Palais de Tokyo, puisque l’expérience se poursuit sur le parvis et autour du bassin. 

 

Toute exposition d’artiste est une forme d’autoportrait, et particulièrement pour Guillaume Leblon pour qui l’autobiographie joue un rôle crucial dans la création. Il effectue pour cette exposition une relecture de son travail, reliant et rejouant ses œuvres, en les mêlant à de nouvelles productions.

Le titre de son exposition joue sur le double sens du terme « parade » : la mise en scène, le défilé (qui peut être carnavalesque ou autoritaire), mais aussi le subterfuge, la feinte. Car Guillaume Leblon, artiste dont l’œuvre est un vaste répertoire des vocabulaires de la sculpture – de la statuaire à l’assemblage, de la forme issue de la nature à la construction architecturale –cultive également le mystère et l’ellipse : son travail ne se résume pas en thématiques ni en figures de discours, mais il compose à partir de choses vues, d’une perception du monde et d’une histoire des formes, avec des émotions et des sensations.

Une humeur parfois mélancolique, qui l’entraîne notamment à bouleverser l’ordonnancement néo-classique du parvis du Palais de Tokyo en le barrant d’un arbre déraciné et en jonchant le bassin de parapluies démembrés, scène de perturbation catastrophique qui restitue un écho inquiet aux incertitudes du présent et à ses dérèglements, qu’ils soient sociétaux ou climatiques.

 

DU 19/10/2022 AU 08/01/2022

Commissaire François Piron

Avec le soutien de

L’exposition Parade bénéficie du soutien de la Galerie Nathalie Obadia, Paris-Bruxelles.

L’Œuvre Face contre terre bénéficie du soutien et de la collaboration de Paprec.

L’Œuvre Gardienne de Guillaume Leblon bénéficie du soutien de Dalle Nogare Graniti & Marmi.

Le Palais de Tokyo remercie pour leur aide la galerie ProjecteSD et le Fonds de dotation Emerige.

LES AUTRES EXPOSITIONS DE LA SAISON

Explorer la Tokyothèque